Mother of Pearl

Part of the supplies my mum sent me for my birthday were a strand of little mother of pearl discs. I had a few goes at trying to work out how I would use them.

Mother of pearl plus red seed beads necklace

Mother of pearl plus red seed beads necklace

Temporarily strung on monofilament, it consists of mother of pearl discs spaced out by dark red and ecru larger seed beads, along with lighter red smaller ones. I wasn’t entirely happy with this. It’s pretty and all, but it wasn’t what I had in mind.

Mother of pearl plus clear seed beads necklace

Mother of pearl plus clear seed beads necklace

This was the second try: mother of pearl discs and teeny clear seed beads. I like this one a lot more. It’s very simple and delicate-looking, and I think I’ll get round to stringing one properly.

I worked out, however, that what I really wanted was for the mother of pearl to be one of the smaller elements in the design, not the largest. At this point, my BeadsDirect order came to the rescue.

Chinese ruby in zoisite, mother of pearl and seed beads necklace

Chinese ruby in zoisite, mother of pearl and seed beads necklace

This consists of Chinese ruby in zoisite octagons, mother of pearl discs, and clear and translucent grey seed beads. I really like the Chinese ruby in zoisite – it’s a very dark green with red and black mottled inclusions. I added a silver-plated screw clasp so I could try it on… and discovered that it was about 10 seed beads too long on either end. It had taken me ages to get the calottes (bead tips) on the ends, so I left it as-is for the moment. It’s also rather heavy because of the large stones. I hadn’t considered that before… I may restring it at the right length on beading wire, and if I’m still not happy with the weight/hang I’d have to redesign it so it uses fewer octagons.

It was a learning experience, shall we say.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

