Cheeky Frit Blends: Witch Queen of New Orleans and Devil Gate Drive

[These frit tests are from the first half of August 2010]

Kaz of Cheeky Cherub Designs, who also makes and sells lovely murrini on Etsy, has started doing frit blends. I was one of the winners of a draw on Frit-Happens! to be a tester for some of her new blends. There are more results by other people over on the forum – I’m putting mine up over here too.

Witch Queen of New Orleans

Blend 39: Witch Queen of New Orleans

First up, this intriguing purply mix. The colours were hard to photograph properly – the areas that look brownish actually have a bit more colour variation than that going on in them. They are ringed green and blue and brown, subtle but there (there’s multicolour dark in this blend). I also don’t think I’ve quite got the hang of what to put this one on or how to use it to its best. I found that when I left it on the surface the pink boils easily, so you need to be a bit careful. It’s over white, over white and encased, frit painting with clear, over dirty martini and over ink blue over white. The BHB nugget is amethyst over dirty martini, then frit and some dots of amethyst on top. It didn’t work out very well and the surface is a bit fried in places.

The one that’s encased over white is my favourite, and I probably should try photographing it again to show other sides! There’s pink and deep blue and purple and the little variegated bits.

Here’s a couple of beads I made a bit later:

Superheated over periwinkle, and superheated on straw yellow, with Reichenbach antique green on the ends and a raised wrap in the centre.

Devil Gate Drive

Blend 40: Devil Gate Drive

I love this one! It’s like red berries. As before, we have it over white, over white and encased, and frit painting with clear. Then the dark nugget is frit painting with pale green apple. You probably don’t want to do that
The wibbly flowers are Vetro odd custard, and the one on the left has rose opalino.

(I do like Kaz’s naming scheme too, even if I do get Witch Queen of New Orleans stuck in my head every time I see the name…)

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Di Sandland on January 4, 2011 - 11:28 pm

    Loving the Devil Gate Drive – and those beads go remarkably well with my own blog post today!

    • #2 by Kalorlo on January 5, 2011 - 10:40 am

      Heheh, partly! Did you see Sarah Hornik’s post yesterday? (http://blog.glassbysarah.com/) She’s good at using orange with all kinds of things and had some new orange and purple beads.

Leave a Reply

