Squares, charms, twisties and presses

[Sept 2010]

The UKJC charm swap was due on Sept 9th – I’d been making the teeny lotus beads with that in mind, but then I started making these and liked them much better!

Twistie squares

I got out my Zoozii’s Mini Duo press for these – it has a tiny square and a tiny diamond, and I’d had a couple of goes with it but then got distracted by my lentil press. It’s just right for things like this. I think these are a great way of using up odds and ends of twisties. You just need a piece that’s an inch or so long, wrap it on and encase with clear and press. Then add a little random murrini to one side! Note: it works a lot better on 1.6mm mandrels. I usually use 2mm, but these are so small that the larger mandrel doesn’t let you press as neatly.

My favourite was a multicolour dark + hades twistie with one of Kaz’s multicolour mermaid murrini. So I used that to make my charm swap bead – put it on a nice fine silver headpin and voila! See a gallery of all the charms.

Here’s the charm I received – it’s a beaded bead in black and silver by Anita Mistry and is lovely and very clever! (We do the swaps secretly, then have a big guessing game to work out who did what).

UKJC charm swap by Anita

The other thing I tried at this time was a little sculptural head. This is the second try, the first is a bit more Lego styled :p

Head

I used CiM ginger for the face, which got a lot darker with the longer working time than it did when I made test spacers – now I know how to get what I want out of it! I was disappointed with the paleness of the spacers, but this is very nice. Oh, and the mouth is CiM chai. He went a bit little old lady, because I kept accidentally melting parts of his face in when working on others… needs more practice.

I got a second hand Kalera Long & Lean press, and proceeded to make everything into kaleras. I do like them as a shape.

Organic kaleras

I was trying a number of things, some of which didn’t work (that silver brown again!). There are some Vetro odds in there too – Jolene gave me some bits and bobs to play with when I visited her.

And this is the big version of my twistie squares. I like it a lot.

Elements kalera

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Di Sandland on January 25, 2011 - 5:54 pm

    Liking that big one – Elements – gorgeous. Clever sod x

Leave a Reply

