52 earrings: #4 Red Queen and #5 Lime Twizzlers

I made two pairs of earrings this week. First I made a pair of little lampwork hearts with the luscious Lauscha transparent red (I love this, it’s actually semi-opaque when used in any volume, but keeps a whole lotta depth and juiciness).

#4 Red Queen

13.01.19_E04_RedQueen_01

Red lampwork hearts by me, sterling silver.

I had another go with my rubber tube – I like spirals so made some with the frosted lime tubing. I had some little o-rings in tangerine that fit on the tubing so added those for some zing. Then I decided that I wanted little lampwork dangles in the centre, so made a pair of orange and green encased dotty beads. I messed around a bit with different types of endings on the brass – tried some spirals but didn’t get them centred in the orientation I wanted, so in the end I went for a hammered widened end and added a little green seed bead to stop the lampwork sliding off.

#5 Lime Twizzlers

13.01.22_E05_LimeTwizzlers_01

Green and orange dotty lampwork beads by me, lime rubber tubing, tangerine o-rings, brass.

I think these could look good in a bunch of different colours.

(I also made the earring tree to have a nicer display to hang earrings on – the bit of wire I had hanging from my lamp was functional but doesn’t look great in photos! I might do another with enough wire for roots and glue it to a rock, but this one works)

52 little things links
Craft Pimp Week 4 thread
• Linda of Earthshine Lampwork Bead and Jewellery Design: http://www.earth-shine.co.uk/
• Sue of BlueBoxStudio: http://www.blue-box-studio.blogspot.co.uk
• Jolene of Kitzbitz Art Glass: http://kitzbitzartglass.blogspot.co.uk

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michi on January 26, 2013 - 9:15 am

    Beautiful your earrings, and I’m also thrilled from the copper earring display!

Leave a Reply

