52 earrings: #9 Misty Mountains

For these earrings, I used a pair of ceramic spikes by Petra Carpreau of Scorched Earth on Etsy.

#9 Misty Mountains

13.02.08_E09_MistyMountains_01

I paired them with two African blood jade semi-precious beads – they have the same mottled green as the spikes, with the addition of earthy red. Wire-wrapped in sterling silver and hanging from sterling earwires. I hammered the balled ends of the earwires flat as they were fairly ‘rustic’! (See my last mention of having lost my auflux…)

I am umming about antiquing the silver to gunmetal so it matches the loops on the spikes better. I’ve got no idea if my liver of sulphur still works, however… I got it a while ago, have never used it, and it’s the liquid kind that doesn’t have a long shelf life. I wouldn’t want to get it in the top unglazed section of the spikes, either.

So I’m still considering that and should probably try it out on some copper first to see how it goes. I know you can try it with hardboiled egg in place of the liver of sulphur, but that honestly sounds like too much faffing about.

52 little things links
Craft Pimp Week 8 thread
• Linda of Earthshine Lampwork Bead and Jewellery Design: http://www.earth-shine.co.uk/
• Sue of BlueBoxStudio: http://www.blue-box-studio.blogspot.co.uk
• Jolene of Kitzbitz Art Glass: http://kitzbitzartglass.blogspot.co.uk

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

