96 coe (ish) colour testing

At the UK Flame Off at the beginning of April, I came home with rather more 96 coe glass than I’d been planning… Caroline of http://www.beadbug.co.uk was there and I planned to get some stuff from her – she’s importing Gaffer and Reichenbach rods to the UK, as well as frit. But Barbara Beadman was also there, selling off Reichenbach and P&T glass. That added quite a weight to what I had to drag back home after!

(I’m calling everything 96 coe for simplicity. It’s more of a range than that: P&T nominally gets referred to as 93, Reichenbach as 94 and Gaffer as 96, and they all have a +/- value of at least 2 on that – the exact value varies per colour).

The colours I was playing with in this session were:

Opaque
P&T birch green
R 0113 vanilla
R 0175 pastel green
R 0245 isar blue
R 4291 dark olive

Transparent
P&T clear
R 0011 heliotrope
R 0139 strawberry
R 0043 steel blue
R 0039 brilliant copper blue

I was fairly wiped out after the Flame Off and Silverstone bead fair days, so I decided to just play with my new cylinder combo roller from http://www.pegasuslampworktools.co.uk. Now, I can make cylinders that are longer than they are fat well enough with a marver – part of the reason to get this was to make them the same size. However, the cylinder ‘discs’ aren’t something I’d like to try to make without this! Oh, I could, but I’d need to be very careful not to let them spread out along the mandrel.

One cylinder combo roller with beads:

13.04.08_PegasusCylinderComboRoller

I didn’t have much of a plan for how I was going to decorate them either, other than knowing I wanted to use some silver leaf with the opaques.

Here’s a group shot.

13.04.08_96coe

Strawberry and clear

13.04.08_Strawberry

This is a core of clear, a thin encasing of the cylinder surface with strawberry and then with clear again. That shows how saturated the red is (and this is one of the lighter transparent reds – a lot of the 96 transparents look almost black in the rod).

P&T birch green

13.04.08_BirchGreen

This is a lovely very dark opaque green. The spacers are plain, and the bead on the right has a wrap of pastel green (which looks quite blue over the birch green) and diagonal spirals of steel blue and brilliant blue, both transparent. The steel blue is extremely dark, even as a thin stringer.

Dark olive

The cylinder at the back is a base of dark olive with silver leaf melted in and some dots and lines in vanilla. I added strawberry on top of the larger dots and it has a deep jewelled colour. The dark olive has gone blue around the edges of the silver leaf in some places (easier to see in the group shot).

Vanilla

13.04.08_Vanilla

Both cylinder beads in the foreground have vanilla bases. The left is vanilla and isar blue. Isar blue is a soft, spreading colour.
The right is vanilla with silver leaf. I think what I did here was to put vanilla lines and dots on top of the leaf and then isar blue fine lines and dots on top of those, giving the fuzzy blue centres and the brown where the vanilla meets the silver. I added heliotrope dots on top.

Pastel green

13.04.08_PastelGreen

Here’s where it gets unexpected. This pastel green reminds me a bit of Effetre opaque uranium yellow – don’t know if the greenness is the same as I don’t have any to compare, but it’s a similar sort of shade. In spacers it is ghostly and the cylinder in the middle shows what happens when you add silver leaf! It’s gone dark caramel. The darkest dots are strawberry and the lines and small dots are vanilla with steel blue centres. It looks opulent.

What I want to do is work out a bead design to show off the jewel tones in these very saturated transparents, and do something less messy with the pastel green bead.

Layered dots are an obvious thought for the transparents, though I have a slight disadvantage in that I have no white just now…

At the bottom here I’ll add another two test beads I made in a second session.

Steel blue and heliotrope

13.04.21_SteelHyacinth

This is a little pillow of clear with steel blue over one side and heliotrope over the other – the steel blue is still incredibly dark here. The heliotrope got some brownish streaks so you need to be careful to keep that one cooler and higher up in the flame.

Dark olive and pastel green

13.04.21_IrisGold

I made this pillow bead from dark olive and encased half with pastel green, then put iris gold frit on top. It has made the dark olive go blue underneath the frit and there are some pale greenish outlines. The frit has gone a darker amber on the pastel green side and there’s some yellowing of the green in places.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

