Nail art: Dotty Fruit Salad

Inspired by Nuthin’ But A Nail Thing’s polka dot tutorial.

I went for some nice bright spring and summery colours. (Also, I might have to make beads in these colours, because they are rather nice. Not sure if I have a coral that is this pink though, I don’t usually use coral).

Dotty Fruit Salad

14.02.23_DottyFruitSalad_01

I used alternating base colours for my nails.

Colours:
• Collection 2000 Lemon Soda
• Collection 2000 Fruit Salad

Lemon Soda is a similar colour to Miss Sporty’s Popcorn, but a warmer shade. Fruit Salad is a coral pink. They’re both pretty opaque, which is good for this. They are also both fast drying, which is very handy when you are layering lots of dots!

I used Seche Vite as a top coat because you want something fairly thick to go over the layers of dots. Though it may just be me, but it seems to be shrinking even faster than usual over these colours.

I used a dotting tool – it has one larger round steel ball end and one smaller. If you don’t have one, then anything with a rounded end works. I have used the end of a mandrel before, and a toothpick should do for small dots. Brushes are bad for making dots because they give you splodges instead.

Thumbs! (I trimmed my thumbnails down before they caught on anything, they were getting slightly impractical. As a nail biter, it is a novelty for my nails to get too long). See also experimenting with my camera’s timing option for the two-hand pics.

14.02.23_DottyFruitSalad_02

And one of each hand. The colours make me happy.

14.02.23_DottyFruitSalad_03

14.02.23_DottyFruitSalad_04

I should find a matte top coat sometime, because I think they would also look awesome frosted. I have three matte polishes, which I was unsure about at first, but I do really like the finish.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Dotty Fruit Salad beads | Heather Kelly Glass

Leave a Reply

